Get Adobe Flash player

Write On

Posts Tagged ‘Awards’

2014 WGA Awards: Screen Nominations Revealed

Awards Letterhead 2013.inddThe Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen during 2013.

Winners will be honored at the 2014 Writers Guild Awards on Saturday, February 1, 2014, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City. Tickets for the Writers Guild Awards New York Ceremony are now available here. Additional information on the awards show can be found here.

Here are the screen nominees:


  • American Hustle, Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell; Columbia Pictures
  • Blue Jasmine, Written by Woody Allen; Sony Pictures Classics
  • Dallas Buyers Club, Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack; Focus Features
  • Her, Written by Spike Jonze; Warner Bros.
  • Nebraska, Written by Bob Nelson; Paramount Pictures


  • August: Osage County, Screenplay by Tracy Letts; Based on his play; The Weinstein Company
  • Before Midnight, Written by Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke; Based on characters created by Richard Linklater & Kim Krizan; Sony Pictures Classics
  • Captain Phillips, Screenplay by Billy Ray; Based on the book A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty; Columbia Pictures
  • Lone Survivor, Written by Peter Berg; Based on the book by Marcus Lutrell with Patrick Robinson; Universal Pictures
  • The Wolf of Wall Street, Screenplay by Terence Winter; Based on the book by Jordan Belfort; Paramount Pictures


  • Dirty Wars, Written by Jeremy Scahill & David Riker; Sundance Selects
  • Herblock – The Black & The White, Written by Sara Lukinson & Michael Stevens; The Stevens Company
  • No Place on Earth, Written by Janet Tobias & Paul Laikin; Magnolia Pictures
  • Stories We Tell, Written by Sarah Polley; Roadside Attractions
  • We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks, Written by Alex Gibney; Focus Features

The final voting period to determine the screenplay and series winners for the 2014 Writers Guild Awards will begin on Monday, January 6th.

Writers Guild Awards Tickets On Sale


The Writers Guild of America, East today announced that members can RSVP for the 66th annual Writers Guild Award East Ceremony. This year’s event will take place on Saturday, February 1st, at the Edison Ballroom in New York City.

The ceremony will be hosted by comedian W. Kamau Bell. Presenters include Robert Carlock, Kate Mulgrew, Lawrence O’Donnell, Archie Panjabi, Wendell Pierce, Frank Rich, Matthew Rhys, Keri Russell, and Beau Willimon, with more to be announced.

David Simon, creator of The Wire and Treme, will receive the Ian McClellan Hunter Award for Career Achievement.

James Schamus, the award-winning screenwriter of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and co-founder of Focus Films, will be presented with the Evelyn F. Burkey Award for bringing honor and dignity to writers.

The Writers Guild Awards New York Ceremony is supported by Screen Craft.

Writers Guild members can RSVP here.

For more information on the awards, please visit