News, Events & Awards  >  Writers Guild Awards  >  Submissions, Rules and Eligibility Information

Submissions, Rules and Eligibility Information

Submissions Guidelines for the 2014 Writers Guild of America Awards:

Theatrical: Adapted and Original Screenplay
Deadline 8:30 PM EST, FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2013
•Submit Online    •Rules and Eligibility

Theatrical: Documentary Screenplay
•Download Entry Form      • Eligibility    
Deadline for submission is 8:30 PM EST, FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2013

Series: Drama, Comedy and New Series (all platforms)
Deadline 8:30 PM EDT, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 11, 2013
•Submit Online    •Rules and Eligibility

Television, Radio, New Media and Promotional Writing
•Submit Online      •Rules and Eligibility     •Categories    •New Media NTWC         
Deadline 8:30 PM EDT, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 11, 2013

Graphic Art and Animation
•Submit Online      •Rules and Eligibility           
Deadline 8:30 PM EDT, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 11, 2013

Videogame Writing Award
•Download Entry Form      • Eligibility
Deadline for submission is 8:30 PM EST, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 25, 2013

What's New for the 2014 Awards?

In the past year, several high profile series have been produced for initial exhibition in new media.  Under the existing Writers Guild Awards rules, these shows would not have been eligible to compete against similar programs produced for TV.  The new guidelines will permit online series to compete with TV series in the script and series categories.
Also in the last year, several daytime serials, which had been broadcast on network television for decades, moved to new media platforms.  Although they are continuations of programs previously produced for television, the old rules would have placed them in the separate Derivative New Media award category. The new awards guidelines will allow online daytime serials to compete in the Daytime Drama category along with serials that continue to be produced for television.
Specific changes to Writers Guild Awards rules are as follows:

•Both the Original and Adapted New Media categories remain intact but will be limited to programs 15 minutes or less in length and will now be referred to as Short Form New Media – Original and Short Form New Media – Adapted. The “adapted” category is open to new media programs based on any source material, whether a TV series, motion picture or written work. 
•All programs over 15 minutes in length will compete in existing TV categories (i.e., overall series, episodic drama, episodic comedy, etc.), which have been expanded to encompass made-for new media programming.
•All daytime serials will compete in the Daytime Drama category, which has also been broadened to include made-for new media programming.
•The WGA’s three series awards categories – Drama, Comedy, and New Series – will be open to all programs over 15 minutes and under one hour in duration, regardless of the platform for which they were created.


This type of programming customarily involves the writing of questions and answers, as well as other material (i.e., quizzes, stunts, host copy, et al.).  Scripts submitted for awards consideration must be written under a WGA collective bargaining agreement.
* * *

Please update your member profile to receive emails from the Guild, and save a tree. Also, visit our homepage to make sure your mailing address is accurate for Awards screeners, coming soon!