Awards Are Nice, But We’d Rather The Writers Get A Fair Contract

Photo Credit – AP Photos: Mary Altaffer

On Tuesday, January 22nd, after the 2008 Oscar nominations were announced, more than 40 award winners convened in New York City's The Players to send a message to the industry: "Awards are nice, but we'd rather the writers get a fair contract." They brought their awards and their passions about the importance of writers and how the ongoing Writers Guild strike may affect the upcoming Academy Awards ceremony.

WGAE President Michael Winship, Tony Gilroy, Blythe Danner and Tom Fontana were among the attendees who spoke at the press conference.

The highlight was everyone gathering – with their Oscar, Emmy, Pulitzer, Writers Guild, Humanitas, Obie, Tony and Dramatist Awards – for a once in a lifetime photo. Pictured are: (in front): Blythe Danner, Marshall Brickman, Celeste Holm, and Tom Fontana. Behind them are (listed alphabetically): Lynn Ahrens, David Auburn, Rene Balcer, David Black, Kevin Bleyer, Mitchell Burgess, Tom Casiello, Laura Maria Censabella, Amy Cohen, David Steven Cohen, Stephen Flaherty, Gina Gionfriddo, Robin Green, David Hwang, Charles Kipps, Raye Lankford, Warren Leight, Julie Martin, John Markus, Marsha Norman, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Jeffrey Sweet, Alfred Uhry (Oscar, Pulitzer), Chap Taylor, John Weidman, and more.