61st Annual Writers Guild Awards At The Hudson Theatre

61st Annual Writers Guild Awards At The Hudson Theatre

John Oliver of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart hosted the East Coast show, which was held in the historic Hudson Theatre at the Millenium Broadway Hotel. Presenters appearing at the show included: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Talia Balsam, Shari Springer Berman and Robert Pulcini, Marshall Brickman, Christopher Cerf, Alana De La Garza, Susie Essman, Tom Fontana, Judah Friedlander, Terry George, Nancy Giles, Gilbert Gottfried, Bill Irwin, Jack McBrayer, S. Epatha Merkerson, Aasif Mandvi, Ana Ortiz, Linus Roache, John Slattery, Jerry Stiller and Anne Meara, Paul F. Tompkins, Jerry verDorn, and Sam Waterston. Musical entertainment during the ceremony was provided by La Bamba and the Hubcabs. Also in attendance were: Tina Fey, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Robert Siegel, David Simon, and Simon Beaufoy.


During the show, the Writers Guild of America, East presented special honors to: John Patrick Shanley – Ian McLellan Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award; Norman Stiles – Herb Sargent Award for Comedy Excellence; The Committee To Protect Journalists accepted by Board Chairman Paul Steiger and Executive Director Joel Simon – Evelyn F. Burkey Award for contributions bringing honor and dignity to writers everywhere; Chris Albers and Tom Fontana – Jablow Award for devoted service to the Guild; and Sarah Tobianski – John Merriman Award for Study of Broadcast Journalism at American University. In addition, the Writers Guild of America, East Foundation presented the first Michael Collyer Memorial Fellowship in Screenwriting to Sara Van Acker of New York University.

The event was produced by Anne Marie Gaynor, supervised by Marsha Manns, and produced under the creative supervision of head writer David Steven Cohen. Other credits include: talent coordinator Bonnie Datt, creative consultant Craig Shemin, and casting consultant Judy Bowman Casting. Among others, the show was written by staff members from The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, Late Show with David Letterman, and The Colbert Report.


2009 Writers Guild Award Winners

View The 61st Annual Writers Guild Awards Photo Album

2009 WGAE Honorary Award Winners

Special Awards History