Rules for Theatrical Submissions

Theatrical screenplays produced under the jurisdiction of the WGA or of an affiliate Guild are no longer automatically deemed submitted for the award.  A completed entry form must be submitted for WGA awards consideration.

To be eligible, a theatrical motion picture must have been written under the WGA MBA or under a bona fide collective bargaining agreement of the Australian Writers Guild, Writers Guild of Canada, Writers Guild of Great Britain, Irish Playwrights & Screenwriters Guild or the New Zealand Writers Guild (collectively, “affiliate Guilds”). 

Submissions for films written under the jurisdiction of an affiliate guild must include a letter from the affiliate guild verifying awards eligibility.  Please note that an affiliate Guild may impose additional requirements for a writer to be considered covered by its collective bargaining agreement.


The screenplay awards are for films that were or will be exhibited theatrically in the Los Angeles area for at least one week during 2010.

Theatrical screenplays are classified as Original or Adapted.  The WGA will make the final determination of the proper classification for a screenplay.

For screenplays produced under the WGA MBA, a Notice of Tentative Writing Credits must be on file with the WGA and the credit determination must be final.  Writers of source material are not eligible for awards consideration. 

Films that had their initial exhibition on television (broadcast, pay or cable) or were released directly on DVD are not eligible for screenplay awards. 

The production company or any writer who received writing credit for the theatrical screenplay may submit the screenplay for awards consideration.  Writers’ representatives (e.g. agents, managers or publicists) may also submit on the writer‘s behalf.

Only online submissions will be accepted. A receipt will automatically be sent to the email address of the entrant upon successful completion of the submission.  The deadline for submission is 8:30 p.m. (EST) on Friday, October 15, 2010.  No late or incomplete submissions will be accepted. 

Submit online:

For further information about the 2011 Writers Guild Awards submission process,please contact Rebecca Olerich at 212-767-7835 or Nancy Hathorne at212-767-7812.