Writers Guild of America, East Announces Council Election Results

NEW YORK CITY – The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) announced the 2010 election results for its Council. There were 10 open seats: six Freelance seats and four Staff seats.

In the election, there were 387 valid ballots cast. The results were:Elected as Freelance members on the Council were: Gina Gionfriddo (i) (188, 48.6%**), Andrew Bergman (164, 42.4%), Jeremy Pikser (i) (155, 40.0%), John Auerbach (i) (149, 38.5%), Terry George (143, 37.0%), and Walter Bernstein (i) (141, 36.4%),

Elected as Staff members on the Council were: Cath Twohill (i) (206, 53.2%), Marta Gibbons (182, 47.0%), Art Daley (i) (165, 42.6%), and Ted Schreiber (136, 35.1%).

All terms begin immediately and run through September 2012.WGAE President Michael Winship, Vice President Bob Schneider, and Secretary-Treasurer Gail Lee continue to serve their two-year terms, which run from 2009 – 2011.

The Writers Guild of America, East, AFL-CIO, is a labor union representing writers in motion pictures, television, cable, digital media, and broadcast news. The WGAE conducts programs, seminars, and events on issues of interest to, and on behalf of, writers. In addition, it represents writers’ interests on the legislative level.  For more information on the Writers Guild of America, East, visit www.wgaeast.org.Editor’s Notes:* Votes cast for candidate ** Percentage of valid ballots cast  *** “(i)” denotes incumbent#   #  #