2020 Election

Election Details

The nomination period for the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) 2020 Council Election opened on April 30, 2020 and closed at 11:59pm ET on May 31, 2020.

The candidates for the 2020 Council Election were announced on June 22, 2020. Candidate statements are available to read here.

The Council is the governing body of the Writers Guild of America, East, consisting of 19 members, plus the three officers (President, Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer). Freelance members work in screen, television and new media, and Staff members work in news shops news shops under the Guild’s jurisdiction.

Ten council seats will expire this year, six (7) Freelance and three (3) Staff. There is no Officer election in 2020.

The terms for newly elected Council members will run for two years beginning September 18, 2020.

The Annual Meeting and Council Election will be held at 5:00 PM ET on Thursday, September 17, 2020. Voting online and by mail will begin at 8:00 AM ET on Thursday, August 27, 2020.


Candidate Statements

The eleven (11) candidates for the seven (7) open Freelance seats are (order determined by lot*):

  • Christopher Kyle (i)
  • Erica Saleh
  • Kyle Bradstreet (i)
  • Gina Gionfriddo
  • Jason Kim
  • Lisa Takeuchi Cullen (i)
  • Kaitlin Fontana (i)
  • Michael Winship (i)
  • A.M. Homes (i)
  • Monica Lee Bellais (i)
  • Benjamin Rosenblum

The three (3) candidates for the three (3) open Staff seats are (order determined by lot*):

  • Kelly Stout (i)
  • Gail Lee (i)
  • Ashley Feinberg (i)

*The order of listing candidates is determined by a drawing of candidates’ names by lot, conducted by two Guild members with a WGAE staff member acting as witness.

**(i) denotes incumbent

Back to top