Broadcast News/Radio


April 3, 2013

WGAE, WGAW Ratify New Collective-Bargaining Agreement with CBS News

The Writers Guild of America, East and the Writers Guild of America, West have negotiated a new three-year agreement with CBS News … Click here to read more.

February 15, 2012

The Future of Broadcast News: What WGAE Members Say

More than 175 members of the WGAE in the “staff” (that is, news) category answered a Guild questionnaire about trends in broadcast news. We want to engage in a conversation with Guild members about the future, how it will affect members and what the union should be doing about it. Although most members who answered […]

February 14, 2011

WGAE Statement on the House Appropriation Commitee’s proposal to eliminate all funding for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting

The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) issued this statement today regarding the House Appropriation Committee’s proposal to eliminate all funding for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB): “The Writers Guild of America, East opposes renewed efforts by members of the House Appropriations Committee to defund the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. Federal funding is critical […]

December 13, 2010


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEDecember 11, 2010 NEW YORK CITY and LOS ANGELES  –  Members of the Writers Guilds of America, East and West (WGAE and WGAW) employed at CBS News have ratified their new collective bargaining agreement soundly. The vote was: 83 % yes; 17% no. The three-year contract covers newswriters, writer/producers, editors, desk assistants, production assistants, […]

December 6, 2010

WGAE Meets with FCC Commissioner Copps

On Friday, December 3, a WGAE contingent met with Michael Copps, one of the five members of the Federal Communications Commission.  We discussed the consolidation of ownership of media companies, the downward financial pressures on broadcast news, and Net Neutrality. Commissioner Copps has been a stalwart and articulate supporter of the rights of communities and […]

August 27, 2010

WBBM Web News Writers Vote For WGAE Representation

NEW YORK CITY — In a first for the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE), web news writer/producers at  Chicago CBS station WBBM voted unanimously to be represented by the Writers Guild, East on August 26th.  These are the first news writer/producers working exclusively on web content to join the WGAE, the union that has […]

July 8, 2010

Comments Before the Federal Communications Commission on its Regulatory Review of Broadcast Ownership Rules

The Writers Guild of America, East, AFL-CIO (the “WGAE”) represents thousands of members who write for film, television, radio, and digital media.  Our members work for major and independent studios, for the major television and radio networks and stations, and for public television, where they write, produce, edit, and create graphics for news and public […]

June 29, 2010

WGAE talks with FCC Chair about film, piracy and the future of journalism

Michael Winship led a Q&A with Chairman Julius Genachowski at the Silverdocs Festival. The Chairman said “The most important thing we can do with this new medium … is to make sure … the Internet is open for content creators…" Read more here.

May 26, 2010

WGAE-ABC News Employees Overwhelmingly Ratify New Contract

NEW YORK CITY – ABC News employees represented by the Writers Guild of America, East, AFL-CIO (WGAE), have ratified their new contract agreement overwhelmingly. The vote was: 89% yes; 11% no. The three-year contract is effective immediately and affects newswriters, editors, desk assistants, production assistants, graphic artists and researchers in national and local television and […]

May 6, 2010

WGAE Reaches Tentative Contract Agreement with ABC for Newswriters

NEW YORK CITY  – The Writers Guild of America, East, AFL-CIO (WGAE) and ABC, Inc. have reached tentative agreement on a new contract for the WGAE-ABC news employees. The agreement, which was recommended by the WGAE-ABC Negotiating Committee, is subject to approval by the WGAE Council and a ratification vote by members covered by the […]