February 4, 2015

Ticket Deadline For 2015 Writers Guild Awards New York Ceremony

Today is the deadline to buy tickets for the 2015 Writers Guild Awards New York Ceremony, which takes place on Saturday, February 14, at the Edison Ballroom in Manhattan. Hosting the awards will be Comedy Central’s new late night star Larry Wilmore. He’ll be joined on stage by presenters Sarah Silverman, Clive Owen, Edward Zwick, […]

February 4, 2015

EVENT: Andrew Bergman On Taking HONEYMOON IN VEGAS From Screen To Broadway

WGAE member Andrew Bergman wrote the book for the Broadway hit Honeymoon in Vegas, based on his 1992 film HONEYMOON IN VEGAS. On March 15th, Bergman will be participating in HONEYMOON IN VEGAS: Conversation & Performance with the Cast & Creative Team of the Hit Broadway Show  at 92Y – Buttenwieser Hall (1395 Lexington Ave, New York, NY‎). WGA members get […]

February 2, 2015

INTERVIEW: Shannon Walker & Damon Cardasis, “Vicky & Lysander”

The WGAE Write On Blog interviewed Shannon Walker and Damon Cardasis, who created, wrote and star in VICKY & LYSANDER. The web-series is nominated for two Writers Guild Awards for “Short Form New Media – Original.” Read the full interview here.

January 30, 2015

2015 Writers Guild Awards: Sarah Silverman, Clive Owen, André Holland Join New York Ceremony as Presenters

Hosted By Larry Wilmore and featuring previously announced presenters Mahershala Ali, Julie Klausner, Robert Klein, Judith Light, Bill Moyers, Frank Rich, Morgan Spurlock, Michael Kenneth Williams, Lizz Winstead and Edward Zwick NEW YORK, NY (January 30, 2015) – The Writers Guild of America, East today announced that Sarah Silverman, Clive Owen and André Holland will […]

January 26, 2015

Top Comedy-Variety Writers To ITV: “We Are One Guild”

NEW YORK, NY (JANUARY 26, 2015) – More than 175 prominent comedy/variety writers, including a number who appear on-air, have signed a petition urging ITV to enter a collective bargaining agreement covering its nonfiction writer-producers. “We are one Guild,” the petition states. “By refusing to agree to a Guild contract protecting its nonfiction writers and […]

January 23, 2015

2015 Writers Guild Awards: Final Voting

WGAE members have until Friday, January 29th at 3pm ET to cast a ballot in the following categories: Original Screenplay, Adapted Screenplay, Comedy Series, Dramatic Series and New Series. Your vote can really make a difference in determining the Writers Guild Award winners, demonstrating to the world at large what you think represents the best writing […]

January 22, 2015

(PHOTOS) Warm You Up For Sundance, Slamdance and the Independent Spirit Awards Cocktail Party

Last week, the WGAE hosted its annual Warm You Up For Sundance, Slamdance and the Independent Spirit Awards Cocktail Party. The event was a opportunity for filmmakers, many of whom were heading to Park City for the first time, to meet and mingle before premiering their work. Check out a selection of photos from the party here.

January 14, 2015

2015 Writers Guild Awards: Call For Volunteers

The 2015 Writers Guild Awards New York Ceremony will be held on Saturday, February 14 at the Edison Ballroom. This year’s event is hosted by Larry Wilmore and will honor Norman Lear, Paul Haggis and Jeremy Pikser. The WGAE has opened its call for award show volunteers. Volunteers receive a free ticket to the awards and are provided […]

January 13, 2015

2015 Writers Guild Awards: Final Voting

The FINAL voting period to determine the winners for the 2015 Writers Guild Awards will be open as of 12pm today for the following categories: ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY ADAPTED SCREENPLAY COMEDY SERIES DRAMATIC SERIES NEW SERIES Vote online at: https://eballot4.votenet.com/wga/login.cfm Your username is your last name and your password is your 5-digit member ID number. The […]

January 12, 2015

2015 Writers Guild Awards Videogame Writing Nominations Announced

Los Angeles and New York – The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for videogames during 2014. Winners will be honored at the 2015 Writers Guild Awards on Saturday, February 14, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York […]