The 62nd Writers Guild Awards

View more photos

Watch clips from the show

The 2010 Writers Guild Awards New York event was held at the Hudson Theatre on February 20, 2010. Susie Essman of Curb Your Enthusiasm hosted the East Coast show, which was executive produced by Craig Shemin, who was also the head writer.  Presenters appearing at the show in New York included: Elisabeth Moss, Michael Stuhlbarg, Richard Kind, Ana Ortiz, Fred Armisen, Fran Brill and Prairie Dawn, Josh Charles, Stephanie D’Abruzzo, Abby Elliott, Chris Elliott, Edie Falco, Nancy Giles, Don Hastings, Bill Irwin, Marc Lawrence, Elizabeth I. McCann, Bob McGrath, Seth Meyers, Mo Rocca, Wallace Shawn, Jeremy Sisto, Harry Smith, WGAE President Michael Winship, and Senator Al Franken in a special video tribute to honorary award recipient Alan Zweibel. Musical entertainment during the ceremony was provided by the Mark Pender Band featuring LaBamba. Also in attendance were: Tina Fey, Anthony Mackie, Nora Ephron, Michael H. Weber, Tom Fontana, and Terry George.

The Writers Guild of America, East presented special honors to: Alan Zweibel – Ian McLellan Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award; Gary David Goldberg – Herb Sargent Award for Comedy Excellence; Edward Albee – Evelyn F. Burkey Award for contributions bringing honor and dignity to writers everywhere; David Steven Cohen – Jablow Award for devoted service to the Guild, and Philippa Levenberg– John Merriman Award for Study of Broadcast Journalism at American University. In addition, the Writers Guild of America, East Foundation presented the Michael Collyer Memorial Fellowship in Screenwriting to Antal Zambo of Wayne State University.

Credits for the East Coast event included: producer Anne Marie Gaynor, WGAE director of programs and events Rebecca Olerich, and talent producer Bonnie Datt. The show’s writers included: Tim Carvell, David Steven Cohen, Wayne Federman, Frank Santopadre, and John Marshall.