The 71st Writers Guild Awards



Theatrical: Adapted and Original Screenplay
Deadline 8:30 PM EST, FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2018
Theatrical: Documentary Screenplay
Deadline for submission is 5:30 PM PST, FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2018
• Entry Form (Submit by mail) • Rules and Eligibility
Series: Drama, Comedy and New Series (all platforms)
Deadline 8:30 PM EST, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 19, 2018
Television, Radio, New Media, Digital News and Promotional Writing
Deadline 8:30 PM EST, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 19, 2018
Graphic Art and Animation
Deadline 8:30 PM EST, FRIDAY, OCTOBER 19, 2018
Videogame Writing Award
Deadline for submission is 8:30PM EST, FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2018
• Entry Form (or submit online at • Rules and eligibility


Please note the following changes to Writers Guild Awards categories:

1) Long Form/Limited Series Categories

All pilot scripts must now be submitted in Episodic Drama or Episodic Comedy categories, regardless of their broadcast or exhibition length.

2) Short Form New Media Categories

Writers may now submit up to four episodes (each under 15 minutes in length), with a synopsis covering the remaining episodes. The award will now be given to all credited writers on a new media series rather than to one writer or writing team credited for a single episode. This revised rule now mirrors the submission rules for Original/Adapted Longform and Limited Series categories.

3) Broadcast/Exhibition Eligibility Period

In addition to Theatrical Screenplay categories, the following award categories will now also observe calendar year eligibility period: Long Form, Episodic Animation, Children’s, Short Form New Media, Comedy/Variety, Quiz and Audience Participation, Documentary, Daytime, and On-Air Promotion categories first broadcast between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2018.

News, radio/audio and digital news categories will remain the same, i.e., programs must have been first broadcast between October 1, 2017 and September 30, 2018.

In recognition that this is a transitional year for submission guidelines, the following WGA Awards categories will be given a one-time broadcast/exhibition eligibility period extension: Long form, episodic, animation, children’s, short form new media: December 1, 2017 – December 31, 2017. Comedy/variety, quiz and audience participation, documentary, daytime drama, graphic art and animation, on-air promotion: October 1, 2017 – December 31, 2017.

For a quick glance at the TV-Radio/Audio-New Media script submission rules and eligibility period changes, click here.

For specific questions about the Writers Guild Awards submissions, eligibility rules/criteria and submission deadlines, please contact Dana Weissman at 212.767.7835 or Nancy Hathorne at 212.767.7812.