



December 19, 2023

Cris Abrego, Chairman and CEO Television Academy 5220 Lankershim Blvd. North Hollywood, CA 91601

Re: Hosts of Variety Series//Specials Appeal to Reinstate "Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series/Special" Categories to primetime Emmy Awards Broadcast

Dear Chairman Abrego,

As hosts and former hosts of series eligible for the Emmy Awards' "Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series/Special" categories, we are profoundly disappointed by the Television Academy's decision to not present this award during the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards' televised ceremony on January 15, 2024.

Our programs could not exist without the tremendous work of our writers - as proven by the writers' strike that shut down late night television for 148 days. The Academy's decision devalues their work, and our series, by sidelining writers from being honored during the Emmys' main telecast.

We urge the Television Academy to immediately reinstate the "Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series/Special" categories in the primetime telecast.

In solidarity,

Michael Che Stephen Colbert Adam Conover Jimmy Fallon Sam Jay Bomani Jones Colin Jost Jimmy Kimmel Seth Meyers Trevor Noah John Oliver Amber Ruffin Jon Stewart Robin Thede

Cc: Maury McIntyre, President and CEO of the Television Academy Cc: Rob Wade, CEO of Fox Entertainment Cc: Michael Thorn, President of Entertainment for Fox Entertainment