Press Room

Breaking news, press releases and statements from the Writers Guild of America, East

Thursday September 19, 2019

2019 Council Election Results

NEW YORK, NY (September 19, 2019) – The Writers Guild of America, East today announced the results of its 2019 Council election.

This year, there were nine open Council seats, six (6) Freelance and three (3) Staff, as well as the offices of President, Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer. Freelance members work in screen, television and digital media, and Staff members work in television, radio and digital news shops under the Guild’s jurisdiction.

The following members were elected to serve as Officers:

  • President – Beau Willimon (i);
  • Vice President – Kathy McGee;
  • Secretary-Treasurer – Bob Schneider (i).

Elected as Freelance members on the Council:

  • Bonnie Datt (i);
  • Josh Gondelman;
  • Dru Johnston;
  • Courtney Simon (i);
  • David Simon (i);
  • Amy Sohn (i).

Elected as Staff members on the Council:

  • Kim Kelly (i);
  • Hamilton Nolan (i);
  • Phil Pilato (i).

*“(i)” denotes incumbent

Votes were cast by 21.32% of eligible voters (5,919). The WGAE does not release numerical voting results. The ballot count was supervised by Votenet Solutions.


Back to top