Press Room

Breaking news, press releases and statements from the Writers Guild of America, East

Tuesday January 25, 2011


NEW YORK CITY –  Marianne Pryor will receive the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) Richard B. Jablow award for devoted service to the Guild. The award is named for Richard B. Jablow, who helped found the WGAE, authored its constitution, and served as its first counsel. 2010 Jablow Award recipient David Steven Cohen will present the award to Pryor at the 63rd  annual Writers Guild Awards ceremony on Saturday, February 5, 2011 at the AXA Equitable Center in New York City.Marianne Pryor, an award-winning writer and editor at ABC Radio network news, has been an active member of the WGAE for many years. First becoming involved in the WGAE on the picket line during the newswriters strike in the 1980s, Pryor served three terms on the WGAE Council, twice on the negotiating committees for its ABC News contracts, and on the committees that selected the Guild’s executive director and new office space.“Marianne Pryor has been a stalwart of the Writers Guild, East for many years. The esteem in which she is held not only here at the union but among her colleagues at ABC News — whose affection and respect for her and all she has done for them in the workplace and at the negotiating table are profound — make her a most worthy recipient of this year’s Jablow Award," said Michael Winship, president of the Writers Guild of America, East.Pryor has been a writer and editor at ABC Radio network news for the past 29 years. As senior editor, she helped guide the newsroom through daily news cycles as well as major breaking events. She has won several Writers Guild Awards as the writer and producer of ABC Radio’s World News This Week.  The Richard B. Jablow Award was established in 1978 to recognize devoted service to the Guild.  Past recipients include: 2010 recipient David Steven Cohen, Chris Albers, Tom Fontana, Catherine Twohill, Gail Lee, Warren Leight, James Schamus, Ruth Gallo, Stephen Schiff, Richard Wesley, Michael Winship, Herb Sargent, and Edward Adler.   The 63rd annual Writers Guild Awards will take place on Saturday, February 5, 2011 in New York City at the AXA Equitable Center and simultaneously in Los Angeles at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel-Grand Ballroom. For more information or to purchase tickets to the New York City awards ceremony, call 212-767-7812 or visit the WGAE website at The Writers Guild of America, East, AFL-CIO, is a labor union representing writers in motion pictures, television, cable, digital media, and broadcast news. The WGAE conducts programs, seminars, and events on issues of interest to, and on behalf of, writers. In addition, it represents writers’ interests on the legislative level.  For more information on the Writers Guild of America, East, visit

Back to top