Press Room

Breaking news, press releases and statements from the Writers Guild of America, East

Friday September 19, 2008

WGAE Announces Council Election Results


NEW YORK CITY – The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) announced the 2008 election results for its Council. There were 10 open seats: six open Freelance seats and four open Staff seats.

In the election, there were 444 valid ballots cast. The results were:

Elected as Freelance members on the Council were: Gina Gionfriddo (i) (319*, 71.8%**), Walter Bernstein (i) (260, 58.6%), John Auerbach (i) (240, 54.1%), David Steven Cohen (i) (236, 53.2%), Jerome Coopersmith (196, 44.1%), and Jeremy Pikser (i) (195, 43.9%)

Elected as Staff members on the Council were: Cath Twohill (245, 55.2%), Marianne Pryor (i) (218, 49.1%), Elizabeth Turrell (189, 42.6%), and Art Daley (174, 39.2%).

All terms begin immediately and run through September 2010.  WGAE President Michael Winship, Vice President Bob Schneider, and Secretary-Treasurer Gail Lee continue to serve their two-year terms, which run from 2007-2009.

The Writers Guild of America, East is a labor union representing writers in motion pictures, television, cable, new media, and broadcast news. The WGAE conducts programs, seminars, and events on issues of interest to, and on behalf of, writers. In addition, it represents writers’ interests on the legislative level. For more information on the Writers Guild of America, East, visit

Editor’s Notes:

* Votes cast for candidate

** Percentage of valid ballots cast

*** "(i)" denotes incumbent

Back to top